Untitled

For this piece I Decided to work with multiple pieces of paper.

Step 1.)  I used tacks to hold 8 pieces of Arches Cover White 250 GSM paper up to the wall in my studio.  Together they are 60″ tall x 88″ wide.

Step 2.) Without thinking too much about composition or placement and focusing more on line I started my first marks at the focal point on the golden mean,  1/3 from the top and 1/3 from the left.  I continue drawing line upon line building up a network of line, all the while not knowing where the line would take me.

Step 3.) Continuing the process using mechanical pencil for fine lines.

Step 4.)  I needed darker darks, so I used a stick of Conte which is great for developing a variety of line width and value.  Also I was feeling like the lines so far had been too whimsical.  The lines were so flowing and light hearted because I had been listening to upbeat jazz for the last 4 hours of  drawing. To break this up, I introduced perfectly strait lines to literally break the whimsical lines.

And here is a detail shot of its current condition from below right.

Thank you for visiting my blog!  I always appreciate comments.

Stephen Lursen

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    May 03, 2010 @ 22:45:28

    Keep it up Steven and as far as the critic within – we are our own worse critics, roll with it 🙂 its an ongoing adventure

    Reply

Leave a Reply

