Painting on the wall #1

I covered a wall in my studio with paper, primed it and went to work.  My goal was to discover how to paint non-representationally.  I am hoping to paint a painting, without painting any real things.

It started out as a drawing with charcoal, but I soon got the urge to paint.  I have been known for being too wild with my “disney world” pallet (choice of colors), so to restrain myself for now I am using only white with a little hint of red oxide.

So this is the piece as it stands.  I like to take pictures of my work and then look at them in black and white on the computer.  This way you can read the value all by itself to make sure there is enough contrast in the painting.  If the whole piece is grey, than it is likely very calm as opposed to being intense or bold.

Here is a look at part of my piece in black and white:

THis is basically the same image with color:

THank you for reading!

If you ever have any comments on my art, I would love to hear them.

Stephen

Leave a Reply

