Drawing on the wall #1

In the most recent piece, “Drawing #1”, I decided to stick to keeping it simple and just draw… Well 99% at least.  Enough to keep calling this a drawing instead of a painting.

I absent mindedly started drawing like I was reading a book.  Left to right methodically working away until I had reached half way.  Oh, by the way, this is is a 10′ wide by 3′ tall drawing on a single piece of paper.  Once it was pointed out to me that I was just drawing a landscape from left to right without much excitement or growth, I jumped over to the right side and started intentionally drawing non-representationally… to the best of my ability that is.  I eventually reached a point where I had two completely different drawings on teh same piece of paper and cutting it in half would just be a cop-out.  My first couple attempts just weren’t enough and I’m not sure that it is finished just yet.

Check it out and tell me what you think.  The first two images are the whole piece hanging on the wall.  The third image is zoomed into the center transitional part.

Zoomed into the centerThank you for reading!

Stephen

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela Winegard
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 12:15:14

    Keep it up Stephen!!! I am liking it. Especially the interweaving portions that give it this real sense of depth and movement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

